stripes in my output.

Topic's about PicLaser or PicLaser Lite
Forum rules
Be Kind to other's.
No Cussing or Swearing.
Don't post anything Illegal or Obscene.
Image attachment size limit is 500 KiB.
inbrissy
Posts: 16
Joined: Fri Dec 16, 2016 7:41 pm

Re: stripes in my output.

Postby inbrissy » Tue Dec 20, 2016 6:10 am

This is at 0.1016. Getting too small?

FullSizeRender 2.jpg
FullSizeRender 2.jpg (74.42 KiB) Viewed 7954 times

User avatar
Picengravertoo
Full Access Moderator
Posts: 1092
Joined: Thu Dec 18, 2014 4:02 pm
Contact:

Re: stripes in my output.

Postby Picengravertoo » Tue Dec 20, 2016 6:37 am

It looks like you may have some mechanical issues. Is something loose?

User avatar
Picengraver
Full Access Moderator
Posts: 390
Joined: Tue Dec 23, 2014 5:40 pm
Contact:

Re: stripes in my output.

Postby Picengraver » Tue Dec 20, 2016 7:26 am

Looks as though it might be a backlash issue.
John

inbrissy
Posts: 16
Joined: Fri Dec 16, 2016 7:41 pm

Re: stripes in my output.

Postby inbrissy » Tue Dec 20, 2016 3:23 pm

Sorry, what is backlash and how do I fix it?
I've checked everything and everything is tight. I checked the belts as well and all seems ok. I'll strip and retighten everything again just in case

User avatar
Picengraver
Full Access Moderator
Posts: 390
Joined: Tue Dec 23, 2014 5:40 pm
Contact:

Re: stripes in my output.

Postby Picengraver » Tue Dec 20, 2016 5:51 pm

Backlash is a failure to return to the same point from opposite directions. Could be caused by loose pulleys, slack belts, or even from friction against movement. Looking at a blowup of the guy's right shoulder/arm is why I suspect possibility of backlash.
John

inbrissy
Posts: 16
Joined: Fri Dec 16, 2016 7:41 pm

Re: stripes in my output.

Postby inbrissy » Tue Dec 20, 2016 8:38 pm

This looking a little better?
I'm stripping my X because it feels a little tight. Hopefully I can loosen it up a little making for smoother movement.

FullSizeRender.jpg
FullSizeRender.jpg (196.13 KiB) Viewed 7927 times

inbrissy
Posts: 16
Joined: Fri Dec 16, 2016 7:41 pm

Re: stripes in my output.

Postby inbrissy » Wed Dec 21, 2016 4:06 am

Ok so I've realised that I've completely missed a step in setting up my CNC shield. I've never actually adjusted my driver's potentiometers. Could that be causing the problems I'm having?

it mentions that I should adjust them until the axis move smoothly. Perhaps they're not moving as smoothly as they can when adjusting the potentiometers. I'll give it a try anyway tomorrow and see how it goes.

*mutters to himself RTFM mate!!

User avatar
Picengravertoo
Full Access Moderator
Posts: 1092
Joined: Thu Dec 18, 2014 4:02 pm
Contact:

Re: stripes in my output.

Postby Picengravertoo » Wed Dec 21, 2016 7:48 am

I turn up my pots just before the steppers start getting too hot to touch. Is your lens secure so it does not move around when engraving?

You may need to experiment with editing your image too.


Return to “PicLaser or PicLaser Lite”

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 2 guests

cron